Wallace Galluzzi Volunteer of the Year Award


Wallace Galluzzi

Every year the United Way of Douglas County gives out an award named in honor of the late Wallace Galluzzi, celebrating the outstanding achievements of local volunteers, and promoting exceptional volunteerism as an important way that individuals can make positive impacts in our community.

Wallace Galluzzi came to Lawrence in 1963 to serve as president of Haskell University, where there is still a hall named in his honor. In 1983 he volunteered to lead the United Way Campaign, which at the time was called the United Fund Drive. His dedication as a volunteer in this role was remarkable, and when he passed away the following year it was decided to name our annual volunteer award after him. Since then we have given out this award every year, and on occasion we’ve chosen multiple recipients!

Find a complete list of Galluzzi Award winners below!


1985 AE Lee                            Boys & Girls Club of Lawrence

1986 Emma Margan              Hospice Care in Douglas County

1987 Diane Duffy                   Douglas City Rape Victim Survivor Services

1988 LeMerle McCoy            Ballard Community Center

1989 Marcella Wolfson         American Red Cross, Douglas County Chapter

1990 Lyman Wiley                 ARC of Douglas County

1991 Judi Kellas                    First Step House

1992 Alita Cooper                  Douglas County Child Development Association

1993 Gay Doudoroff              Headquarters

1994 Bob Wells                       Boys & Girls Club

1995 Brad Phipps                  Health Care Access, Inc.

1996 Shalley Gasper             Hospice Care in Douglas Cty

1997 Beverly Cates                Douglas County Visiting Nurses Association

1998 Maxine Hougland         Social Service League

1999 Greta Georgeson           Catholic Community Services

2000 Becky & Doug Eason    Big Brothers, Big Sisters of Douglas County

2001 Marty Waddell Smith   Douglas County CASA

2002 Rita Cosby                     Ninth Street Outreach Center

2002 Pat Harmon                  21st Century Learning Center at Woodlawn Elementary (youth recipient)

2003 Carolyn Landgrebe      Meals on Wheels

2003 Ariel George                  Roger Hill Volunteer Center (youth recipient)

2004 Dr. Edward Manda       Douglas County Dental Clinic

2004 Yuan Liu                        Partnership for Children and Youth (youth recipient)

2005 Truman “Bud” Waugh Douglas County Emergency Management

2005 Kate Falkenstein          Ballard Community Center (youth recipient)

2006 Eleanor Symons           Kansas Audio-Reader Network

2006 Justin Esau                   Salvation Army and Trinity Episcopal Church (youth recipient)

2007 Reathyl Brummett        Lawrence Memorial Hospital

2007 Justine Ahle                  Lawrence Memorial Hospital (youth recipient)

2008 Pete Peterson               LINK

2008 Sarah Stern                   Youth Volunteer Corps (youth recipient)

2009 Brian Daldorph             Douglas County Correctional Facility

2009 Shai Jackson                Big Brothers Big Sisters (youth recipient)

2010 Katie Becker                 Douglas County CASA                   

2010 Mckenzie Brungardt    American Red Cross (youth recipient)

          201X Recipients 


RECIPIENT NAME                             Agency Name




          201X Recipients 


RECIPIENT NAME                             Agency Name




          201X Recipients 


RECIPIENT NAME                             Agency Name




          201X Recipients 


RECIPIENT NAME                             Agency Name




          2015 Recipients 


Frank Male                              American Red Cross

Carl Graves                             Audio Reader

Kennedy Cooper                    Ballard

JaCorey Shepherd                 Big Brothers Big Sisters

Tammy Cates                         Boys & Girls Club

Jill Kleinberg                          Douglas County CASA

Kristen Helling                       Douglas County Dental Clinic

David Hamby                          Family Promise

Lisa Simmons                        Girl Scouts

Steve Lopes                           Headquarters

Larry Ranking                        Health Care Access

Heather Brust                        Heartland Community Health

Mary Blythe                           Independence Inc.

Bob Harwood                         Lawrence Community Shelter

Michelle Fales                       Free State High School

Ron King                                Lawrence Habitat for Humanity

Janet D'Ercole                       Lawrence Humane Society

John Priddle                          Lawrence Meals on Wheels

John Scott                             Salvation Army

Beth Bittlingmayer               Success By 6 Coalition

Jennifer Sherwood               United Way

Daniel B. Smith                     Van Go

Janet Dehnert                        Willow

Doug Katenay                        Social Service League

Judy Niebaum                       Small world

Paula Nigh                            Theatre Lawrence

Rachel Paxton                      Center for Community Outreach



Hank Booth























          201X Recipients 


RECIPIENT NAME                             Agency Name





2017 Ellen Fellenstein                      United Way of Douglas County 

Ellen Fellenstein

2018 Grant Huddin                            United Way of Douglas County 


2019 Kristi Hill                            Lawrence Winter Shelter 

Kristi HillCertificate



2008 Hank Booth                  

2009 Al Hack